A brief history of the constituency

The constituency of Newport East has been in existence since 1983 when the borough constituency of Newport was split into East and West. Within the constituency are the electoral wards of Alway, Beechwood, Caldicot Castle, Dewstow, Green Lane, Langstone, Lliswerry, Llanwern, Mill, Ringland, Rogiet, Severn, St Julians, The Elms, Vitoria and West End.

The constituency has seen considerable inward investment in recent years and Newport is an expanding city, with good transport links to the rest of the United Kingdom and further afield.

Newport hosted a very successful Ryder Cup in 2010, and has a rich sporting heritage. Newport County AFC play at Spytty Park, and Welsh rugby region the Newport Gwent Dragons play at Rodney Parade - both stadiums stand within the constituency.